Friday, May 25, 2012

Aelita Day Three (With Reward Results)


The Aelita Awards ceremony was held today.  Up above are the big three.  From left to right:  The Ivan Yefremov Memorial Award, the Vitaly Bugrov Memorial Award, and the Aelita itself.

And the winners were . . .

The Aelita Award, for great contribution for the development of Russian science fiction and fantasy went to Russian-born Israeli writer Pavel Amnuel

The Ivan Yefremov Memorial Award, for great contribution to critical studies, went to Andre Sinitsin.

 The Vitaly Bugrov Memorial Award, for great contribution in the creation of story collections and nonfiction, went to Sergey Chekmaev.

The Order of the Knights of Science Fiction and Fantasy, for great contribution to the development of fandom, went to the staff of the website "Russian Fantastika."

Europe-Asia, for writers who reflect Ekaterinburg and the Urals in their work, went to Vladimir Molotilov.

The Order of Kindness and Light, for writers who promote in their work ideas of humaneness, kindness, and a positive attitude toward humanity, went to . . . oh drat, I cannot read my handwriting.  I'll find out in the morning, correct this post, and add the information in tomorrow's post. [It was Ivan Sokolov.]

The winner of the short story contest was Kira Kalilinina.

The winner of the story in 100 minutes contest, a competition that was held yesterday in only an hour and forty minutes, was Julia Furzikova.

And finally, the Master of Sci-Fi and Fantasy Award, given to a foreign writer who, well, you know, went to (cough) me.

And now it's midnight here in Ekaterinburg and I have to get up early tomorrow.  So I'll post more then.  Good night, all.



frilled_shark said...

Those trophies are really pretty as art, especially the middle one.

Michael Swanwick said...

Ekaterinburg is in the Urals and the Urals are a major mining region, so the polished stone is particularly appropriate, too.

Andrew Skorobogatov said...

laureate of Ivan Sokolov's Memorial Prize, The Order of Kindness and Light in this year became Vladislav Krapivin, the oldest writer of children's science fiction. Ivan Sokolov was Ural fan and sponsor, who died last year....
(I'm sorry, okay, what I write here your notes about the festival?)