Wednesday, November 14, 2007

"Modern Fantasy At Its Finest!"

I've just learned that I got a starred review from Publisher's Weekly. This is a very big deal among people who matter, like my agent (Martha Millard) and my editor (David Hartwell). How big? Well . . . big enough that I'm putting off the weekly Babel diagram so I can post it in its entirety here:

The Dragons of Babel by Michael Swanwick (Tor): * Starred Review * "In this triumphant return to the universe of The Iron Dragon’s Daughter (1994), Hugo-winner Swanwick introduces Will le Fey, an orphan of uncertain parentage. After defeating an evil mechanical war dragon who has enslaved him and his village, Will finds himself displaced by war, first imprisoned in an internment camp and then transported to the many-miles-high city of Babel. On the way, he falls in with Esme, an immortal child with no memory, and Nat Whilk, a donkey-eared confidence man of superhuman abilities. Fusing high technology seamlessly with magic, Swanwick introduces us to a wide range of marvelous conceits, fascinating digressions and sparkling characters. His language bounces effortlessly back and forth between the high diction of elfland and thieves’ argot to create a heady literary stew. This is modern fantasy at its finest and should hold great appeal for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Anansi Boys or China MiĆ©ville’s novels." (Jan.)


So are you happy for me? I'm happy for me. Some of that bastard is definitely going on the book jacket.

6 comments:

Matthew Sanborn Smith said...

I'm quite happy for you!

Pat J said...

Awesome. I think it's high time I pre-ordered Dragons.

Michael Swanwick said...

Thank you both!

rantalica said...

Very, very happy for you! ;)
Mihaela

Tim Tarles said...

If I was an undecided buyer, this is what would sell me:

"Fusing high technology seamlessly with magic, Swanwick introduces us to a wide range of marvelous conceits, fascinating digressions and sparkling characters. His language bounces effortlessly back and forth between the high diction of elfland and thieves’ argot to create a heady literary stew. This is modern fantasy at its finest..."

Michael Swanwick said...

Mihaela! Is that you? Of course it is. Marianne says to tell you that we'll send a copy of the novel to Zsgreb for the club's SF cupboard.